National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

Untitled, 2ft X 2ft Acrylic on Canvas, Nakoda Artist Torrie Ironstar


Thursday, September 30, 2021 marks the first National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. Both the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation and Orange Shirt Day take place on September 30. This day honours the lost children and Survivors of residential schools, their families, and the resiliency of their communities. We encourage everyone to take the time on this day—and all days—to acknowledge and better understand the history and harms done, explore the vast learning resources available, donate to and support important related causes and organizations, and participate in programs created and led by First Nations, Métis, and Inuit organizers.

This page features events, organizations, resources, and learning opportunities related to National Day for Truth and Reconciliation and Orange Shirt Day. If you know of resources that would be of benefit to have in this collection, or have any questions or comments, please reach out to us at info@culturedays.ca

Reconciliation is an ongoing process rooted in action, both for us as individuals and as members of our communities. It’s time to listen, learn, reflect, support, and use our positions and privileges to act.

Jump to section

ATTEND - STARTING POINTS - LISTEN - LEARN - ACT - WATCH - SUPPORT - DONATE


ATTEND

Attend and participate in events part of this year’s Culture Days offerings which explore themes surrounding Truth and Reconciliation in this collection.

Explore more events created and led by First Nations, Métis and Inuit organizers part of this year’s Culture Days festivities by using the Indigenous tag in the event search bar.

All times listed in local time
Orange Shirt Day Presentation (Virtual), Royal Saskatchewan Museum
September 30, 2:00-2:45 pm

Orange Shirt Day “Every Child Matters” Virtual Honouring, Diversity and Inclusion Network September 29, 12:45-1:45 pm EDT

National Day for Truth & Reconciliation, Regina Public Library
September 30, 12:00 pm

Every Child Matters Walk, Yorkton, SK
September 30, 10:00 am-2:00 pm

National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, Wanuskewin Heritage Park
September 30, 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Indigenous Theatre’s Days of Truth & Reconciliation, National Arts Centre
Various events: September 27-29

Truth and Reconciliation Week 2021 (Virtual), National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
A virtual event open to all Canadian schools for grades 5-12
September 27-October 1

Office of the Treaty Commissioner - Calendar of Events

Wicihitowin Indigenous Cultural Engagement Conference (Virtual)
October 5-7

Truth and Reconciliation with Eugene Arcand Humbolt, Sask September 28, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

National Day for Truth & Reconciliation and Orange Shirt Day - Prince Albert
Prince Albert, Sask September 30, 9:00am - 9:00pm

National Day for Truth and Reconciliation Live Streaming
September 30 at 8:00 pm ET on APTN, CBC, CBC GEM


STARTING POINTS

Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action, 2015

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation

Truth and Reconciliation Reading List, by ConnectR

Read for Reconciliation, Regina Public Library

Orange Shirt Day and Honoring Residential School Survivors Book List, Saskatoon Public Library

Spirit Bear’s Guide to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Calls to Action

Whose Land is it Anyway? A Manual for Decolonization

  • A free ebook provides a variety of Indigenous perspectives on the history of colonialism, current Indigenous activism and resistance, and outlines the path toward reconciliation.

Indigenous Cultural Programming Resource, Culture Days

Indigenous Ally Toolkit, Montreal Indigenous Community NETWORK


LISTEN

Still Here Still Healing – Jade Roberts + on Spotify - Still Here Still Healing

Residential Schools – Historica Britannica + on Spotify - Residential Schools – Historica Britannica

Telling Our Twisted Stories, CBC podcast with host Kaniehti:io Horn

ᐃᓄᐃᑦ ᐅᓂᒃᑳᖏᑦ (Inuit Unikkaangit), CBC podcast with host and archivist Mary Powder

Indigenous Canada CBC Music Playlist


LEARN

150 Acts of Reconciliation by Crystal Fraser and Sara Komarnisky, Activehistory.ca

  • A compilation of 150 everyday acts, as well as others that are more proactive, that average Canadians can undertake to reflect on Indigenous-settler relationships in new ways.

Beyond 94 – Interactive website

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Education Resources

Did you live near a Residential School?, Interactive map, CBC

21 Things you may not know about the Indian Act, by Bob Joseph


ACT

10 things you can do: Kamloops Residential School, Indigenous Corporate Training

Activities to Engage your Community on Orange Shirt Day, Facing History and Ourselves

Orange Shirt Day and Activities, Classroom PDF, produced by Orange Shirt Day

Sign the petition “Canadian Land Governance Must respect Indigenous Rights”


WATCH

Gord Downie’s “The Secret Path”, CBC Arts

12 Indigenous-themed films to stream, CBC Gem

“We Were Children” documentary, by Tim Wolochatiuk, available on NFB site, Amazon Prime, Apple TV, and Kanopy

“Indian Horse” feature film, by Stephen Campanelli, also available on CBC Gem, Netflix and Amazon Prime

National Film Board - Residential Schools, a selection of films by Indigenous filmmakers and allies about the tragic impacts of Residential Schools

Phyllis Webstad’s Presentation on Orange Shirt Day, YouTube

What non-Indigenous Canadians need to know, TVO Docs, YouTube

Stolen Children: Residential School survivors speak out, CBC News: The National, YouTube

8th Fire: Wab Kinew’s walk through history, CBC

What is reconciliation? Indigenous Educators have their Say, TVO Docs, YouTube

Namwayut: we are one. Truth and reconciliation in Canada, CBC 2017, YouTube

Separating children from parents: The Sixties Scoop in Canada, CBC News 2018, YouTube

Orange Shirt Day Stories 2020, ConnectR, YouTube


SUPPORT

ImagineNATIVE

  • Imaginative is the world’s largest presenter of Indigenous screen content and a registered charity committed to creating a greater understanding of Indigenous peoples and cultures through the presentation of contemporary Indigenous-made media art including film, video, audio, and digital media.

Woodland Cultural Centre, Brantford, ON

  • Woodland Cultural Centre serves to preserve and promote Indigenous history, art, language and culture. “We welcome you to visit and learn with us as we bring the story of the Haudenosaunee people of the Eastern Woodlands to life through innovative exhibitions and programs.”

Indigenous Business Directory, Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

  • The Indigenous Business Directory aims to ensure that more Indigenous businesses can participate in the Saskatchewan supply chain and will allow for increased engagement between members of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce and Indigenous-owned businesses in the province.

Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre, Whitehorse, YK

  • Situated on the banks of the Chu Nínkwän (Yukon River), the Cultural Centre is a place where we celebrate the heritage and contemporary way of life of the Kwanlin Dün First Nation. “As our ancestors did for thousands of years, we welcome visitors from near and afar to gather in our cultural home to share stories and experiences.”

Indigenous Curatorial Collective (ICCA)

  • An Indigenous run and led non-profit organization that aims to support and connect fellow Indigenous curators, artists, writers, academics, and professionals through various methods of gathering. “The ICCA engages in critical discourses, increases professional opportunities for our members, develops programming, and most importantly works to build reciprocal relationships with Indigenous curators, artists, communities and the institutions we engage with.”

Native Women’s Association of Canada

  • The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is a National Indigenous Organization representing the political voice of Indigenous women, girls and gender diverse people in Canada, inclusive of First Nations on and off reserve, status and non-status, disenfranchised, Métis and Inuit.

True North Aid

  • True North Aid is dedicated to serving and supporting northern Indigenous communities in Canada through practical humanitarian support. “As a Canadian charity, our mandate is to provide practical humanitarian assistance through initiatives established on eight foundational stones of support. These include self-determination, reconciliation, water, food, health, housing, hope and education.”

Art for Aid Project

  • The Art For Aid Project works to support Canadian First Nations, Inuit and Metis art education programs through access to quality art supplies, skills labs, awareness and fundraising efforts. “We work to to connect Indigenous youth to art and knowledge of their culture.”

Canadian Roots Exchange

  • CRE builds bridges between Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth in Canada by facilitating dialogue and strengthening relationships through leadership programs. “We believe in a Canada where youth stand in solidarity to promote respect, understanding, and reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples.”

Legacy of Hope Foundation

  • The Legacy of Hope Foundation (LHF) is a national, Indigenous-led, charitable organization that has been working to promote healing and Reconciliation in Canada for more than 19 years. The LHF’s goal is to educate and raise awareness about the history and existing intergenerational impacts of the Residential School System (RSS) and subsequent Sixties Scoop (SS) on Indigenous (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis) Survivors, their descendants, and their communities to promote healing and Reconciliation.

IndigenARTSY

  • IndigenARTSY is an Indigenous Women-Led Canadian Not-for-profit Organization which empowers Indigenous women and generates economic development through free programming and sustainable projects. With their website, they aim to maintain a sustainable e-commerce site and promote the transfer and conservation of cultural knowledge; securing the capacity for the next seven generations to retain and cultivate intrinsic cultural connections.

Orange Shirt Society

Legacy of Hope Foundation

Truth and Reconciliation Week Fund, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation

Reconciliation Canada

Water First

Raven Trust

Indspire

ProMetals Every Child Matters, proceeds going to Scholarships for Indigenous Youth

Donate to Indigenous Charities


Crisis Services Hotlines:

Indian Residential School Survivors and Family Hotline: 1-866-925-4419
Crisis Services Canada: 1-833-456-4566 or text 45645
Kids Help Phone: 1-800-668-6868
First Nations and Inuit Hope for Wellness Help Line: 1-855-242-3310
Native Youth Crisis Hotline: 1-877-209-1266

Land Acknowledgment

The Culture Days network is present and active in all corners of the country, and collaborates with a vast array of people, organizations, and communities across Indigenous territories. Culture Days is committed to working with First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities, seeking to uphold equity for all to participate, and supporting a diversity of art forms and cultural expressions.

The Culture Days National office is located on the Treaty Lands and Territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit, and the traditional territory of many peoples and nations including the Anishinabeg, the Haudenosaunee, the Chippewa, and the Wendat peoples. Today, the City of Toronto remains the home and meeting place for many Indigenous people, whose presence and cultures continue to shape and influence communities. We are grateful to live and work on this land.

Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation

Email

Untitled, 2ft X 2ft Acrylic sur toile, Artiste Nakoda Torrie Ironstar
Untitled, 2ft X 2ft Acrylic sur toile, Artiste Nakoda Torrie Ironstar


Le jeudi 30 septembre 2021 marque la première Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation. La Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation et la Journée du chandail orange ont toutes deux lieu le 30 septembre. Cette journée rend hommage aux enfants disparus et aux survivants des pensionnats, à leurs familles et à la résilience de leurs communautés. Nous encourageons tout le monde à prendre le temps, ce jour-là et tous les autres jours, de reconnaître et de mieux comprendre l'histoire et les préjudices subis, d'explorer les nombreuses ressources pédagogiques disponibles, de faire des dons et de soutenir d'importantes causes et organismes connexes, et de participer à des programmes créés et dirigés par des organisateurs des Premières nations, Métis et Inuits.

Cette page présente des événements, des organismes, des ressources et des possibilités d’apprentissage liés à la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation et à la Journée du chandail orange. Si vous connaissez des ressources qu’il serait utile d’avoir dans cette collection, ou si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, veuillez nous contacter à info@culturedays.ca.

La réconciliation est un processus continu ancré dans l’action, tant pour nous en tant qu’individus que pour les membres de nos communautés. Il est temps d’écouter, d’apprendre, de réfléchir, de soutenir et d’utiliser nos positions et nos privilèges pour agir.

Sauter à la section

[PARTICIPER(#participer) - POINTS DE DÉPART - ÉCOUTER - APPRENDRE - AGIR - REGARDER - SUPPORTER - DONNER

Beaucoups des ressources si-dessous ne sont que disponible en anglais


PARTICIPER

Assistez et participez aux événements organisés dans le cadre de la Fête de la culture de cette année, qui explorent les thèmes de la vérité et de la réconciliation dans cette collection.

Découvrez d’autres [événements] (https://culturedays.ca/fr/events) créés et dirigés par des organisateurs des Premières nations, Métis et Inuits dans le cadre des festivités de la Fête de la culture de cette année en utilisant le tag Autochtone dans la barre de recherche des événements.

Toutes les heures listées sont à l’heure locale
Orange Shirt Day Presentation (Virtual), Royal Saskatchewan Museum
30 septembre, 2:00-2:45 pm

Orange Shirt Day “Every Child Matters” Virtual Honouring, Diversity and Inclusion Network 29 septembre, 12:45-1:45 pm EDT

National Day for Truth & Reconciliation, Regina Public Library
30 septembre, 12:00 pm

Every Child Matters Walk, Yorkton, SK
30 septembre, 10:00 am-2:00 pm

National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, Wanuskewin Heritage Park
30 septembre, 10:00 am-5:00 pm

Indigenous Theatre’s Days of Truth & Reconciliation, Centre national des arts Plusieurs artistes: 27-29 septembre

Truth and Reconciliation Week 2021 (Virtual), Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation
Un événenement virtuel ouvert à toutes les écoles canadienne pour les années 5 à 12. 27 septembre-1 octobre

Office of the Treaty Commissioner - Calendar of Events

Wicihitowin Indigenous Cultural Engagement Conference (Virtual)
5-7 octobre

Truth and Reconciliation with Eugene Arcand Humbolt, Sask 28 septembre, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

National Day for Truth & Reconciliation and Orange Shirt Day - Prince Albert
Prince Albert, Sask 30 septembre, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Flux end direct de la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation
30 septembre à 8:00 pm Heure de l’Est sur APTN, CBC, CBC GEM


POINTS DE DÉPART

Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada : Appels à l’action, 2015

Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation

Liste de lecture de la vérité et de la réconciliation, by ConnectR

Lire pour la réconciliation, Regina Public Library

Liste de lecture de la Journee du chandail organge et pour honorer les survivants des pensionnats, Bibliotèque publique de Saskatoon

Le guide de Spirit Bear sur les appels à l’action de la commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada

Whose Land is it Anyway? A Manual for Decolonization

  • Un livre électronique gratuit présente une variété de points de vue autochtones sur l’histoire du colonialisme, l’activisme et la résistance actuels des autochtones, et trace la voie de la réconciliation.

Ressource sur la programation culturelle autochtone, Culture Days
Trouce d’outils pour allier aux autochtones, Montreal Indigenous Community NETWORK


ÉCOUTER

Still Here Still Healing – Jade Roberts + sur Spotify - Still Here Still Healing

Residential Schools – Historica Britannica + sur Spotify - Residential Schools – Historica Britannica

Telling Our Twisted Stories, Podcast CBC avec animateur Kaniehti:io Horn

ᐃᓄᐃᑦ ᐅᓂᒃᑳᖏᑦ (Inuit Unikkaangit), Podcast CBC avec animatrice et archiviste Mary Powder

Indigenous Canada Playlist de CBC Musique


APPRENDRE

150 Acts of Reconciliation par Crystal Fraser et Sara Komarnisky, Activehistory.ca

  • Une compilation de 150 actes quotidiens, ainsi que d’autres plus proactifs, que le Canadien moyen peut entreprendre pour réfléchir aux relations entre les autochtones et les colons de manière nouvelle.

Beyond 94 – Site web intéractif

Ressource sur l’éducation du Centre national de la vérité et de la réconciliation

Did you live near a Residential School?, Carte intéractive, CBC

21 Things you may not know about the Indian Act, par Bob Joseph


AGIR

10 things you can do: Kamloops Residential School, Indigenous Corporate Training

Activities to Engage your Community on Orange Shirt Day, Facing History and Ourselves

Orange Shirt Day and Activities, Classroom PDF, produced by Orange Shirt Day

Sign the petition “Canadian Land Governance Must respect Indigenous Rights”


REGARDER

Gord Downie’s “The Secret Path”, CBC Arts

12 Indigenous-themed films to stream, CBC Gem

“We Were Children” documentary, par Tim Wolochatiuk, disponible sure le site du ONF, Amazon Prime, Apple TV, et Kanopy

“Indian Horse” feature film, par Stephen Campanelli, aussi disponible sur CBC Gem, Netflix et Amazon Prime

National Film Board - Residential Schools, une sélection de films réalisés par des cinéastes autochtones et leurs alliés sur les conséquences tragiques des pensionnats.

Phyllis Webstad’s Presentation on Orange Shirt Day, YouTube

What non-Indigenous Canadians need to know, TVO Docs, YouTube

Stolen Children: Residential School survivors speak out, CBC News: The National, YouTube

8th Fire: Wab Kinew’s walk through history, CBC

What is reconciliation? Indigenous Educators have their Say, TVO Docs, YouTube

Namwayut: we are one. Truth and reconciliation in Canada, CBC 2017, YouTube

Separating children from parents: The Sixties Scoop in Canada, CBC News 2018, YouTube

Orange Shirt Day Stories 2020, ConnectR, YouTube


SUPPORT

ImagineNATIVE

  • Imaginative est le plus grand diffuseur de contenus audiovisuels indigènes au monde et un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré dont l’objectif est de favoriser une meilleure compréhension des peuples et des cultures indigènes par la présentation d’œuvres médiatiques contemporaines réalisées par des indigènes, notamment des films, des vidéos, des enregistrements audio et des médias numériques.

Woodland Cultural Centre, Brantford, ON

  • Le Woodland Cultural Centre sert à préserver et à promouvoir l’histoire, l’art, la langue et la culture indigènes. Nous vous invitons à nous rendre visite et à apprendre avec nous alors que nous donnons vie à l’histoire du peuple Haudenosaunee des Eastern Woodlands par le biais d’expositions et de programmes novateurs.

Indigenous Business Directory, Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

  • L’Indigenous Business Directory vise à faire en sorte qu’un plus grand nombre d’entreprises indigènes puissent participer à la chaîne d’approvisionnement de la Saskatchewan et permettra un engagement accru entre les membres de la Chambre de commerce de la Saskatchewan et les entreprises indigènes de la province.

Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre, Whitehorse, YK

  • Situé sur les rives du Chu Nínkwän (fleuve Yukon), le centre culturel est un lieu où nous célébrons le patrimoine et le mode de vie contemporain de la Première nation de Kwanlin Dün. “Comme nos ancêtres l’ont fait pendant des milliers d’années, nous accueillons des visiteurs venus de près ou de loin pour se réunir dans notre maison culturelle et partager des histoires et des expériences.”

Indigenous Curatorial Collective (ICCA)

  • Une organisation à but non lucratif gérée et dirigée par des autochtones qui vise à soutenir et à mettre en relation des conservateurs, des artistes, des écrivains, des universitaires et des professionnels autochtones par le biais de diverses méthodes de rassemblement. “L’ICCA s’engage dans des discours critiques, accroît les opportunités professionnelles pour ses membres, développe des programmes et, plus important encore, travaille à construire des relations réciproques avec les conservateurs, les artistes, les communautés et les institutions autochtones avec lesquels nous nous engageons.”

Native Women’s Association of Canada

  • The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is a National Indigenous Organization representing the political voice of Indigenous women, girls and gender diverse people in Canada, inclusive of First Nations on and off reserve, status and non-status, disenfranchised, Métis and Inuit.

True North Aid

  • True North Aid se consacre à servir et à soutenir les communautés autochtones du Nord du Canada par le biais d’une aide humanitaire pratique. “En tant qu’organisme de bienfaisance canadien, notre mandat consiste à fournir une aide humanitaire pratique par le biais d’initiatives fondées sur huit pierres angulaires de soutien. Ces pierres sont l’autodétermination, la réconciliation, l’eau, la nourriture, la santé, le logement, l’espoir et l’éducation “.

Art for Aid Project

  • Le projet “Art For Aid” vise à soutenir les programmes d’éducation artistique des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis du Canada en leur donnant accès à des fournitures artistiques de qualité, à des laboratoires de compétences, à des actions de sensibilisation et à des collectes de fonds. “Nous travaillons à connecter les jeunes indigènes à l’art et à la connaissance de leur culture.”

Canadian Roots Exchange

  • CRE jette des ponts entre les jeunes autochtones et non autochtones du Canada en facilitant le dialogue et en renforçant les relations par le biais de programmes de leadership. “Nous croyons en un Canada où les jeunes sont solidaires pour promouvoir le respect, la compréhension et la réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones.”

Legacy of Hope Foundation

  • La Fondation Legacy of Hope (LHF) est une organisation caritative nationale, dirigée par des Autochtones, qui œuvre depuis plus de 19 ans à la promotion de la guérison et de la réconciliation au Canada. L’objectif de la Fondation est d’éduquer et de sensibiliser les gens à l’histoire et aux impacts intergénérationnels du système des pensionnats indiens (RSS) et du Sixties Scoop (SS) sur les survivants autochtones (Premières nations, Inuits et Métis), leurs descendants et leurs communautés afin de promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation.

IndigenARTSY

  • IndigenARTSY est une organisation canadienne à but non lucratif dirigée par des femmes autochtones qui donne du pouvoir aux femmes autochtones et génère un développement économique grâce à des programmes gratuits et des projets durables. Avec leur site web, elles visent à maintenir un site de commerce électronique durable et à promouvoir le transfert et la conservation des connaissances culturelles ; en garantissant la capacité des sept prochaines générations à conserver et à cultiver les connexions culturelles intrinsèques.

DONATE

Orange Shirt Society

Legacy of Hope Foundation

Truth and Reconciliation Week Fund, the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation

Reconciliation Canada

Water First

Raven Trust

Indspire

ProMetals Every Child Matters, proceeds going to Scholarships for Indigenous Youth

Donate to Indigenous Charities


Services d’assistance téléphonique en cas de crise :

Ligne d’urgence pour les survivants et les familles des pensionnats : 1-866-925-4419
Services de crise du Canada : 1-833-456-4566 ou texto 45645
Jeunesse, J’écoute : 1-800-668-6868
Ligne d’aide Espoir pour le mieux-être des Premières nations et des Inuits : 1-855-242-3310
Ligne d’écoute téléphonique pour les jeunes Autochtones : 1-877-209-1266

Reconnaissance des territoirs

Le réseau de la Fête de la culture est présent et actif dans tous les coins du pays, et collabore avec un vaste éventail de personnes, d’organisations et de communautés à travers les territoires autochtones. La Fête de la culture s’engage à collaborer avec les communautés des Premières nations, Métis et Inuits, à respecter l’équité pour la participation de tous et à soutenir la diversité des formes d’art et des expressions culturelles.

Le bureau national de la Fête de la culture est situé sur les terres et le territoire visés par le traité des Mississaugas de Credit, ainsi que sur le territoire traditionnel de nombreux peuples et nations, dont les Anishinabeg, les Haudenosaunee, les Chippewa et les Wendat. Aujourd’hui, la ville de Toronto reste le foyer et le lieu de rencontre de nombreux autochtones, dont la présence et les cultures continuent de façonner et d’influencer les communautés. Nous sommes reconnaissants de vivre et de travailler sur cette terre.