School Engagement Tool Kit

Incorporating school programs into your Culture Days strategy is an opportunity to get some of the youngest members of your population involved in a nation-wide initiative. With many schools identifying a need for more arts programming, school programs create an occasion to prioritize arts and culture within our schools. Programs can be any size and scope, allowing for activities to be adaptable based on time, needs, and interests within your community.

Inspired by many successful Culture Days student programs, this page guide will help you to learn more about student-focused programming opportunities, and provide you with resources to develop your own Culture Days initiatives. Whether you are a school teacher, camp counsellor, community educator, or simply wanting to organize events programmed for children and families, this is a resource for you!

Yukon Culture Days, 2018, Whitehorse, YK

Did you know?

  • Over one third (37%) of Canadians say their children do not currently receive enough arts and culture education in their school.
  • Most Canadian parents (78%) see Culture Days as an opportunity to supplement their children’s exposure to the arts outside of the classroom.

Why Participate?

Culture Days is a fantastic way to get students involved in arts programming.

  • Programs are non-prescriptive, so you have the opportunity to create an activity that best suits the needs of students and fellow teachers.
  • Event organizers and Culture Days staff are here to help. Local organizers can work with you to develop a program that is a good fit for your classroom or school.
  • By participating, schools will be joining a nation-wide event that brings together museums, cultural organizations, community groups and other schools. It is a great way to get students excited about Canadian arts and culture!
  • Culture Days offers a platform to advocate for arts curriculum in your school. By joining thousands of other students throughout Canada on the Culture Days weekend, collectively we can strengthen our message to school administration, parents, and community arts organizations that arts education is vital and enriching for students’ learning and success.

Program Examples

Many things can be a Culture Days program! From small to large, here are some examples of past programs to get you inspired:

Small Scale Programs

Small programs usually involve a single class taking part in programs such as an artist visit, a class exhibition opening, a field trip or many other projects.

Student Days at the Forks, 2018, Winnipeg, MB Photo: Debbie Ristimaki

Example:

  • Each year, students from Rowntree Montessori School are invited to perform a dance at the Brampton Public Library. Based on the yearly curriculum, students research popular dances from different countries around the world and vote on which dance they would like to perform at the Library.

Medium Scale Programs

Medium-sized programs involve more than just one class - they may involve entire schools or multiple grades. Some past programs include design competitions; , multi-grade exhibitions or school-wide talent shows. Sometimes these programs may be developed over several days or weeks by students in collaboration with visiting artists.

Examples:

  • Local elementary schools in Quesnel, BC were invited to participate in an outdoor, back-to-school art activity. The Quesnel’s Sidewalk Chalk Challenge encouraged artistic expression using sidewalk chalk on the various school playgrounds and paved areas around town. Teachers were contacted early in the year by municipal organizsers and encouraged to participate. The long lead-time ensured many classrooms were able to take part. Children were invited to grab a piece of chalk and create whatever they wanted, making their own temporary mark on the town.ents help interpret the ASL for members of the public.

  • In Milton, ON each year middle-school students from EC Drury School for the Deaf present their own American Sign Language drama or film to the public at the Milton Culture Days hub. Students help interpret the ASL for members of the public.

Large Scale School Programs

Large programs are made up of many schools gathering together at a shared venue. This could be a large cultural festival, a music competition, or an art fair.

Example:

  • In Stavley, AB, Artwork artwork from over one hundred students was collected from three local schools. The art was professionally matted, and put on display for a live art market. These young artists got to showcase their talents and experience their first art show and successful sale.

  • Each year Culture Days Manitoba brings over 750 students to Winnipeg’s historic meeting place, The Forks, for a full day of student-focused cultural programming. Culture Days Manitoba partners with over 15 other non-profit arts organizations to offer unique Student Day experiences to kids age 10 and up. Students can enjoy workshops, perform with their school ensembles on stage, participate in collaborative storytelling and watch stellar student focus performances. All events take place at The Forks campus downtown Winnipeg and involve both indoor and outdoor programming.   You can maximize the impact of your event and curriculum connections by having students do a pre and post-event activity.

Here are some suggestions on ways to get children involved before and after the program:

Culture Hub and Makers Market, Ward 1 Studios, 2018, Guelph, ON

  • If you are visiting a site or trying something new, have students do a research project on the topic beforehand. After the program, have students reflect on whether the experience was what they expected
  • Watch a film, documentary or YouTube clip of an artist demonstration to generate excitement
  • Hold a discussion about arts and culture before taking part in the program. Here are some examples of potential questions that could be tailored to fit the program:
    a. Have you ever participated in (x activity) before?
    b. Have you ever visited a museum or art gallery?
    c. What is art? Let’s make a list of different types of art (ex: dancing, painting, singing, mosaic creation, acting etc.) Is cooking an art? (Have students discuss what art is or is not) Is there a clear answer?
    d. Do you like creating or making art? If so, what sort of art do you like to make?
    e. What does culture mean to you? How is it different than art?
  • To inspire further reflection and discussion, consider asking your students the following questions AFTER the outing:
    a. Did you enjoy the activity? Why or why not?
    b. Was it different from what you expected?
    c. Would you consider (x activity) art?
    d. What was your favourite or least favourite part?
    e. Is it important to take part in arts and culture?

Lesson Plan

Teacher and arts educator Douglas Friesen has developed a Culture Days lesson plan centered around the compositional work of Canadian Composer R. Murray Schafer. Download the lesson plan as an easy way to get a class involved and requires minimal resources.

Webinar: Arts Education in the Digital Sphere

Take your Culture Days school engagement online! This webinar looked at current trends in online education programming, investigating the ways arts organizations are creating digital lessons for younger audiences. Discussion revolved around the differences between live and digital education programming, and the ways organizations have utilized web platforms to reach new audiences.

The webinar included presentations from John Dalrymple with Canada’s National Ballet School, Jay Kimball at LiveArts Saskatchewan, and Douglas Friesen, teacher and arts educator.

Planning and Organizing your School Engagement Event

You aren’t doing it alone! When you join Culture Days, organizers can access a plethora of networks and resources that can help with program planning:

  • Find potential local collaborators by seeing who else is organizing Culture Days events in your area or consult Canada’s Map of Arts & Learning to find artists who regularly offer educational programming.
  • Visit the Organize section of the Culture Days website to find event planning guides, toolkits, webinars and programming strategies for making your event as easy as possible. Get started with the Participation Guide and 100 Event Ideas.
  • For large-scale School engagement events, be sure to consult the Volunteer Management Guide for tips on how to successfully marshal your team.
  • Download free customizable posters, postcards and other promotional items, which are made available through your dashboard once you have an account on our website.
  • Get inspired with stimulating blog stories available on the Culture Days website.

Trouce d'Outils pour l'Engagement Scolaire

  • Email

Incorporer des programmes scolaires dans votre stratégie de la Fête de la Culture est une opportunité pour les jeunes membres de votre population de participer à une initiative nationale. Alors que beaucoup d’écoles identifient qu’elles requièrent plus de programmes artistiques, les programmes scolaires nous donnent l’occasion de prioriser les arts et la culture dans nos écoles. Ces programmes peuvent être de n’importe quelle taille, permettant les activités d’être adaptées dépendant du temps disponible, besoins ou intérêts dans votre communauté.

Inspiré par plusieurs programmes scolaires de la Fête de la Culture, ce guide vous apprendra plus à propos des programmes centrés autours des étudiants, et vous donnera des ressources pour développer vos propres initiatives de la Fête de la Culture. Que vous soyez un professeur d’école, conseiller de camp, éducateur communautaire, ou voulez simplement organiser des événements programmés pour les enfants et familles, ceci est la ressource pour vous !

Yukon Culture Days, 2018, Whitehorse, YK

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Plus qu’un tiers (37%) des canadiens disent que leurs enfants ne reçoivent pas assez d’éducation reliée aux arts et à la culture à l’école
  • La plupart des parents canadiens (78%) pensent que la Fête de la Culture est une opportunité de supplémenter l’accès aux arts en dehors de la classe d’école pour leurs enfants.

Pourquoi Participer ?

La Fête de la Culture est une fantastique façon pour les étudiants de participer à la programmation artistique.

  • Les programmes sont non-prescriptifs, donc vous avez l’opportunité de créer une activité qui suit les besoins des étudiants et professeurs.
  • Les organisateurs d’événements and les employés de la Fête de la Culture sont là pour aider. Les organisateurs locaux peuvent travailler avec vous pour développer un programme qui est parfait pour votre classe ou école.
  • En participant, les écoles joignent un événement national qui regroupe des musées, organisations culturelles, groupes communautaires and d’autres écoles. C’est une bonne façon de créer de l’enthousiasme autour des arts et de la culture canadienne pour les étudiants.
  • La Fête de la Culture offre une plateforme pour défendre les curriculums artistiques à votre école. En joignant des milliers d’autres étudiants à travers le Canada durant la fin de semaine de la Fête de la Culture, nous pouvons collectivement enrichir notre message aux administrations scolaires, parents, et organisations d’arts communautaires que l’éducation artistique est vitale et enrichie l’apprentissage et succès pour les étudiants.

Exemples de Programmes

Plusieurs choses peuvent être un programme de la Fête de la Culture. De petit a grand, voici quelques exemples d’événements antérieurs pour vous donner de l’inspiration.

Programmes à Petite Échelle

Les programmes à petite échelle d’habitude veulent dire une seule classe participant à un programme comme une visite d’artiste, une exposition, une excursion ou autre projet. ![Student Days at the Forks, 2018, Winnipeg, MB Photo: Debbie Ristimaki

Exemple :

  • Chaque année, les étudiants de l’école Montessori Rowntree sont invités à performer une dance à la Bibliothèque Publique de Brampton. Basé sur le curriculum annuel, les étudiants recherchent des danses populaires de différents pays autour du monde et votent quelle danse ils veulent performer à la bibliothèque.

Programmes à Moyenne Échelle

Les programmes à moyenne échelle incorporent plusieurs classes, ou même une école entière. Des programmes antérieurs incluent des compétitions de design et des spectacles de talents. Ces programmes peuvent être développé sur plusieurs jours ou semaines par des étudiants en collaboration avec des artistes en visite.

Exemples :

  • Des écoles locales de Quesnel, BC ont participé à une activité de la rentrée en plein air. Le Challenge de Craie sur le Trottoir à Quesnel a encouragé l’expression artistique, en utilisant de la craie a plusieurs cours récréatives et des aires pavées à travers la ville. Des professeurs ont été contacté plus tôt durant l’année par des organisateurs municipaux et ont été encouragé à participer. Ce long temps de préparation a contribué à que de nombreuses classes participent. Les enfants étaient invités à utiliser la craie pour créer ce qu’ils voulaient, laissant leurs propres marques temporaires sur la ville.

  • Chaque année à Milton, ON, des étudiant de l’École pour les Sourds Drury présentent leur propre film ou théâtre en Langue des Signes Américaine (LSA) à travers le carrefour créatif de la Fête de la Culture. Les étudiants aident à interpréter la LSA pour le public.

Programmes à Grande Échelle

Les programmes à grande échelle rassemblent plusieurs écoles en un événement. Cela peut prendre la forme d’un festival culturel, une compétition de musique ou une foire d’art.

Exemple :

  • A Stavley, AB, des œuvres d’art de cent élèves ont été collectées de trois écoles différentes. Les œuvres ont été mis sous passe-partout par des professionnels et ont été exposés à un marcher d’art. Ces jeunes artistes ont eu la chance de montrer leur talent en exposant pour la première fois.

  • Chaque année, la Fête de la Culture de Winnipeg rassemble 750 étudiant à The Forks, un lieu historique de rassemblement, pour une journée de programmation centré autour des étudiants. La Fête de la Culture du Manitoba est partenaire avec plus de 15 autres organisations d’arts sans-profit pour offrir aux enfants âgés de 10 ans et plus une expérience unique durant la Journée des Étudiants. Les étudiants peuvent participer à des workshops, performer sur scène, conter des histoires collectivement et regarder des performances étudiantes spectaculaires. Tous les événements ont lieu à The Forks au centre-ville de Winnipeg.

Vous pouvez maximiser l’impact de vos événements en demandant que les étudiants participent à des activités avant et après l’événement :

Culture Hub and Makers Market, Ward 1 Studios, 2018, Guelph, ON

  • Si vous visitez un site ou essayer une nouvelle activité, faites les étudiants faire de la recherche avant. Après le programme, faites les étudiants faire une réflexion sur leur expérience et si c’est ce qu’ils attendaient.
  • Regardez un film, documentaire ou clip YouTube d’une démonstration artistique pour générer de l’enthousiasme.
  • Discutez les arts et la culture avant de participer au programme. Voici quelques exemples de questions qui pourrait être appropriée pour ce genre de programme :
    a. Avez-vous participé à cette activité auparavant ?
    b. Avez-vous visité un musée ou galerie d’art auparavant ?
    c. Qu’est-ce que l’art ? Faisons une liste de différents types d’art (ex : danse, peinture, chant, théâtre, etc.) Est-ce que cuisiner est un art ? (Demander aux étudiants qu’est ce qui définit l’art) Il y y-t-il une réponse claire ?
    d. Aimez-vous créer de l’art ? Si oui, quel sorte d’art aimez-vous créer ?
    e. Qu’est-ce que la culture veut dire pour vous ?
  • Pour inspirer de la réflexion et discussion, considérez demander aux étudiants les questions suivantes après avoir participer au programme :
    a. Est-ce que vous avez aimé l’activité ? Pourquoi ?
    b. Est-ce que c’était différent de ce que vous attendiez ?
    c. Considériez-vous cette activité comme de l’art ?
    d. Quelle était votre partie préférée ou moins préférée ?
    e. Est-il important de participer aux arts et à la culture ?

Plan de Leçon

Professeur et éducateur artistique Douglas Friesen a développé un plan de leçon de la Fête de la Culture centré autour de la musique du compositeur canadien R. Murray Schafer. Ce plan de leçon est une façon facile d’impliquer vos élèves et requière un nombre minimal de ressources. Téléchargez-le ici.

Webinaire : L’Éducation Artistique dans la Sphère Numérique

Amener votre engagement scolaire de la Fête de la Culture en ligne ! Ce webinaire a examiné les tendances courantes de l’éducation en ligne, investiguant les façons avec lesquelles les organisations artistiques créer des leçons numériques pour de jeunes auditoires. La discussion était centrée sur les différences entre la programmation éducationnelle en ligne et en personne, et sur les façons que les organisations ont utilisé les plateformes web pour trouver de nouvels auditoires.

Le webinaire incluait des présentations de John Dalrymple de L’École Nationale de Ballet du Canada, Jay Kimball de LiveArts Saskatchewan, et Douglas Friesen, un professeur et éducateur artistique.

Planifier et Organiser votre Événement Scolaire

Vous ne le faites pas seul ! Quand ils joignent la Fête de la Culture, les organisateurs peuvent accéder à de nombreuses ressources et un grand réseau qui peuvent les aider à planifier leur programme :