Frequently Asked Questions

Email
St. Catharines Community Mural by Jana Bergsma. Image courtesy of Danny Custodio.
St. Catharines Community Mural by Jana Bergsma. Image courtesy of Danny Custodio.

Jump to:

What is Culture Days?
When is Culture Days?
What types of events are eligible?
When can I register my Culture Days event?
What do I need to know regarding Culture Days and COVID-19?
Do I have to offer programming for the entire run of Culture Days?
Where does Culture Days happen?
Is the Culture Days celebration all that Culture Days does?
Who can present Culture Days events?
How do I sign up as an organizer?
How do I create an event?
What is a Culture Days hub and how do I create one?
Does Culture Days program its own events?
Does Culture Days provide funding?
Can I charge admission for the event I’m organizing for Culture Days?
Do artists and creatives participating in Culture Days get paid?
What kind of support can I expect from Culture Days?
How do I find events to attend?
Why can’t I find any events in Quebec?
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation FAQs

What is Culture Days?

Culture Days is a national celebration of arts and culture. At the end of each September, Culture Days programs invite the public to get hands-on and behind-the-scenes to highlight the importance of arts and culture in our communities. Millions of people attend thousands of participatory arts and culture events across the country.

The purpose of Culture Days events are to provide the public barrier-free opportunities to participate in arts and cultural experiences, with the aim of inspiring continued future involvement in the cultural life of local communities.

The Culture Days National organization is a non-profit, charitable organization established in 2011. The national organization works with provincial and territorial partners and a wide network of thousands of event organizers—from grassroots volunteers to major institutions— whose combined efforts make this cross-country initiative a success. We provide marketing and industry development resources and manage an annual multi-tiered advertising and promotion campaign that connects thousands of Culture Days events by a common thread. Find out more about our history on our About page.

When is Culture Days?

The next national Culture Days celebration will take place September 23rd through October 16th, 2022 for three glorious weeks of colour, creativity, and community.

The National Day for Truth and Reconciliation occurs on September 30, 2022. This day honours the lost children and survivors of residential schools and their families, and endeavours to acknowledge and better understand the history and harms done. Public commemoration is a vital component of the reconciliation process, and Culture Days is committed to marking and honouring this important day. There will be more details to share on this in the coming months.

In Alberta, Culture Days celebrations are expanded through September to accommodate Alberta’s Month of the Artist. More details about Alberta Culture Days.

In Quebec, our affiliated organization Les Journées de la Culture runs a mirror initiative during the same timeframe with a separate listing of available events.

What types of events are eligible?

To be eligible, an event, activity, or online program must:

  • Be related to arts and culture and be participatory in nature;
  • Be free to attend or offer Pay-What-You-May admission;
  • Take place within the Culture Days dates, and be registered on the Culture Days site.

Read more details about eligibility in our Participation Guide and consult our Programming Ideas resource for inspiration.

When can I register my Culture Days event?

Registration for Culture Days 2022 will open in the spring. You can still review events and online activities from 2021.

To receive the latest information, be sure to subscribe to the national and provincial newsletters.

What do I need to know regarding Culture Days and COVID-19?

We remain committed to supporting organizers in adhering to COVID-19 public health guidelines and changing government restrictions. We encourage organizers to approach program planning with flexibility and to consider organizing online experiences. National and provincial offices remain in place to assist you in your planning. Please reach out to us anytime!

Do I have to offer programming for the entire run of Culture Days?

No. Organizers are not expected to offer programming for the entire 3-week run of Culture Days. As long as you are offering one program, you can participate!

Where does Culture Days happen?

Culture Days happens across Canada, in hundreds of cities, towns, First Nations, and rural areas. In Quebec, our affiliated organization Les Journées de la Culture runs a mirror initiative on the same weekend.

Is the Culture Days celebration all that Culture Days does?

While the Culture Days celebration is an important part of what we do and the culmination of our efforts to celebrate arts and culture, it’s not all that we do. Throughout the year, Culture Days continues to connect the public to arts and culture through research, blog series, interviews, webinars, and other special projects. Culture Days is also active on social media, sharing inspiring stories, advocating for arts and culture sector support, and engaging with audiences across the country.

Who can present Culture Days events?

Anyone and everyone in Canada can participate! Culture Days is an opt-in event with a low barrier for participation. If you wish to present an arts and cultural program or event, ensure it’s free and accessible to the public, then register it (for free!) on the Culture Days website—and you’re on your way!

All events and activities must be hosted or organized by a Canadian-based organization, artist, or individual. Organizers are welcome to involve or collaborate with International artists or participants in their programs.

How do I sign up as an organizer?

Before you can register events as an organizer you must create an account, which you can do here. Once you have signed up, you will have access to all the functionalities of your account through your Dashboard.

How do I create an event?

To create an event, go to your Dashboard, click on Events and follow the instructions. You can find more detailed information in our Planning Your Event resource or download our step-by-step guide to creating an event.

What is a Culture Days hub and how do I create one?

A hub is a group of Culture Days events that are related, whether geographically or thematically. The hub’s page displays all of the events together. You can create a hub through your Dashboard and then invite other events to join it. Find out more about hubs here.

Does Culture Days program its own events?

Culture Days does not typically program events—the creative control belongs to organizers and communities! During the registration process, Culture Days does review, approve, and publish events, but only to check that they meet the basic requirements and are not violating any policies.

Some provincial Culture Days offices do organize specific events and programs. We encourage you to visit your region’s page (click ‘Regions’ in the main menu) to learn more about their work.

Does Culture Days provide funding?

Culture Days does not provide annual direct funding for programs or events. Depending on your province or region, there may be funding available in support of organizing Culture Days programming. We recommend contacting your provincial office for more details, or connect with us at info@culturedays.ca.

In Alberta, most Alberta Culture Days events are supported by grants through the Ministry of Culture, Multiculturalism and the Status of Women. You can find more information about the program here, or contact albertaculturedays@gov.ab.ca.

In Saskatchewan, many Culture Days Saskatchewan hubs are supported through SaskCulture’s funding program. You can find more information about their opportunities here, or contact saskculture.info@saskculture.ca.

Can I charge admission for the event I’m organizing for Culture Days?

Culture Days events must be free to attend or offer optional Pay-What-You-May admission.

Culture Days is committed to advocating that arts and culture are accessible to everyone, and believes that free admission is one useful tool for reducing barriers to access for audiences while providing audience development opportunities for organizers. However, Culture Days also recognizes that producing arts and culture events incurs expenses, and therefore has no restrictions on soliciting Pay-What-You-May admission or the collection of donations. You can read more about our policy here.

Culture Days upholds the importance of paying artists and presenters for their time, expertise, and contributions to arts and culture programming. Since Culture Days is not the producer or programmer of events, decisions regarding payment are left to event organizers. However, we strongly encourage all organizers to compensate their artists fairly. Please consult professional associations such as CARFAC for their fee guidelines for paying artists equitably.

Culture Days allows for the collection of donations and Pay-What-You-May admission to events. Read more about our policy here.

What kind of support can I expect from Culture Days?

Culture Days makes a number of resources available to organizers to help them plan and organize their events. Culture Days also provides organizers with customizable templates for marketing and promotional materials, which can be found in your Dashboard. Our teams work to bring organizers together and foster connection and collaboration between groups and communities. Culture Days also runs an annual cross-country advertising and public engagement campaign, helps organizers promote their events, distributes surveys and research, and hosts the event listing platform to get eyes on activities.

How do I find events to attend?

By visiting our Events page, you can access the search tool that will allow you to look up events by location or keyword.

Why can’t I find any events in Quebec?

In Quebec, our affiliated organization Les Journées de la Culture runs a mirror initiative on the same weekend, with a separate events listing, which you can find here.


National Day for Truth and Reconciliation FAQs

The National Day for Truth and Reconciliation (NDTR) honours the lost children and survivors of residential schools and their families, endeavours to acknowledge and better understand the history and harms done and, as individuals and members of our communities, engage in actions which advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Accordingly, Culture Days has set September 30, 2022 aside to create space exclusively for events organized to commemorate the NDTR, including those aimed at sharing First Nations, Métis, and/or Inuit experiences and perspectives celebrating the creative and cultural expressions of Indigenous people and communities.

In order to ensure that Indigenous voices and participation are central to any event planned for the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, there will be additional questions for organizers to answer during the registration process. If the proposed event does not appear to appropriately and meaningfully reflect the above, Culture Days may contact the event organizer for more details.

What types of events can be included in the Culture Days listing for the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, September 30th, 2022?

An event or activity that appropriately and meaningfully centres the voices and experiences of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities, and helps to advance Truth and Reconciliation in your community; the event should commemorate the spirit and aims of the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, and/or celebrate and encourage the sharing of creative expressions and perspectives of Indigenous communities.

Does the event have to be Indigenous-led to be registered as a NDTR event?

Your event or organization does not have to be Indigenous-led to register, however, the activity must be developed and/or carried out in partnership with Indigenous community members or partners. It is essential to centre the voices and experiences of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities as part of the ongoing Truth and Reconciliation process.

Can I register an event on September 30th that is unrelated to the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation?

No. If you are hosting a single event on September 30th that is unrelated to the aims, spirit, and commemoration of the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, it can not be included in the Culture Days public listing. This decision was made by Culture Days to recognize that public commemoration is a vital component of Truth and Reconciliation. Accordingly, Culture Days has set September 30, 2022 aside to create space exclusively for events as described above.

What if I have an event spanning multiple days that includes September 30th, but my event is not related to Truth and Reconciliation? Can I still register it?

Yes. However, your event on September 30th will not appear on the Culture Days public search and event listing for that day only. All other occurrences of the event will appear in the listing.

Questions courantes

Email
Murale de la communauté de St. Catharines par Jana Bergsma. Image reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Danny Custodio
Murale de la communauté de St. Catharines par Jana Bergsma. Image reproduite avec l’aimable autorisation de Danny Custodio

Aller à:

Qu’est ce que la Fête de la culture?
Quand est-ce que la Fête de la culture se déroule?
Quels types d’événements sont éligibles?
Quand puis-je inscrire mes événments de la Fête de la culture?
Que dois-je savoir à propos de la Fête de la culture et de la COVID-19?
Dois-je offrir de la programmation pour l’entièreté de la Fête de la culture?
Où est-ce que la Fête de la culture se déroule?
La célébration annuelle est-elle tout ce que la Fête de la culture fait?
Qui peut présenter des événements de la Fête de la culture?
Comment puis-je m’inscrire en tant qu’organisateur?
Comment puis-je créer un événement?
Qu’est ce qu’un carrefour créatif et comment puis-je en créer un?
Est-ce que la Fête de la culture programme ses propres événements?
La Fête de la culture fournit-elle des subvensions financières?
Pouquoi ne puis-je pas charger un frais d’admission pour mes événements de la Fête de la culture?
Les artistes participant à la Fête de la culture sont-ils payés?
Quelle sorte de soutient puis-je attendre de la Fête de la culture? Comment puis-je trouver des événements auquels assister?
Pourquoi ne puis-je pas trouver d’événements au Québec?
FAQ de la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation

Qu’est-ce que la Fête de la culture ?

La Fête de la culture est une célébration nationale des arts et de la culture. À la fin de chaque mois de septembre, les programmes de la Fête de la culture invitent le public à se rendre sur le terrain et dans les coulisses pour souligner l’importance des arts et de la culture dans nos communautés. Des millions de personnes assistent à des milliers d’événements artistiques et culturels participatifs à travers le pays.

L’objectif des événements de la Fête de la culture est d’offrir au public des occasions de participer à des expériences artistiques et culturelles sans obstacles, dans le but d’inspirer une participation future continue à la vie culturelle des communautés locales.

L’organisation nationale de la Fête de la culture est un organisme de bienfaisance sans but lucratif créé en 2011. L’organisme national travaille avec des partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux et un vaste réseau de milliers d’organisateurs d’événements - des bénévoles de la base aux grandes institutions - dont les efforts combinés font de cette initiative pancanadienne un succès. Nous fournissons des ressources de marketing et de développement de l’industrie et gérons une campagne annuelle de publicité et de promotion à plusieurs niveaux qui relie des milliers d’événements de la Fête de la culture par un fil conducteur. Pour en savoir plus sur notre histoire, consultez notre page About.

Quand la Fête de la culture a-t-elle lieu ?

**La prochaine édition de la Fête de la culture aura lieu du 23 septembre au 16 octobre 2022, pour trois semaines glorieuses de couleurs, de créativité et de solidarité.

La Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation aura lieu le 30 septembre 2022. Cette journée rend hommage aux enfants disparus et aux survivants des pensionnats indiens ainsi qu’à leurs familles, et vise à reconnaître et à mieux comprendre l’histoire et les torts causés. La commémoration publique est une partie essentielle du processus de réconciliation, et la Fête de la culture s’engage à marquer et à honorer cette journée importante. Nous vous communiquerons plus de détails à ce sujet dans les mois à venir.

En Alberta, les célébrations de la Fête de la culture se prolongent jusqu’en septembre pour tenir compte du Mois de l’artiste. Plus de détails sur la [Fête de la culture de l’Alberta] (https://www.alberta.ca/alberta-culture-days.aspx).

Au Québec, notre organisation affiliée [Les journées de la culture] (https://www.journeesdelaculture.qc.ca) organise une initiative parallèle durant la même période, avec une liste distincte des événements disponibles.

Quels types d’événements sont éligibles ?

Pour être éligible, un événement, une activité ou un programme en ligne doit:

  • Être lié aux arts et à la culture et être de nature participative ;
  • Être gratuit ou offrir une option de frais d’admission optionnel ;
  • se dérouler pendant les dates de la Fête de la culture et être enregistré sur le site de la Fête de la culture.

Pour en savoir plus sur les critères d’admissibilité, consultez notre Guide de participation et notre Ressource d’idées de programmation pour de l’inspiration.

Quand puis-je inscrire mon événement à la Fête de la culture ?

Les inscriptions à la Fête de la culture 2022 seront ouvertes au printemps. Vous pouvez toujours revoir les événements et les activités en ligne de 2021.

Pour recevoir les dernières informations, abonnez-vous aux [infolettres nationale et provinciales] (https://culturedays.ca/en/about/contact#newsletters).

Que dois-je savoir sur la Fête de la culture et le COVID-19 ?

Nous restons déterminés à aider les organisateurs à se conformer aux directives de santé publique COVID-19 et à l’évolution des restrictions gouvernementales. Nous encourageons les organisateurs à faire preuve de souplesse dans la planification de leur programme et à envisager d’organiser des expériences en ligne. Les bureaux nationaux et provinciaux restent en place pour vous aider dans votre planification. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter à tout moment !

Dois-je offrir une programmation pendant toute la durée de la Fête de la culture ?

Non. Les organisateurs ne sont pas tenus de proposer une programmation pour l’ensemble des trois semaines de la Fête de la culture. Tant que vous proposez un programme, vous pouvez participer !

Où la Fête de la culture a-t-elle lieu ?

La Fête de la culture a lieu partout au Canada, dans des centaines de villes, villages, Premières nations et régions rurales. Au Québec, notre organisme affilié, Les journées de la culture, organise une initiative parallèle pour une fin de semaine.

La célébration annuelle est-elle tout ce que la Fête de la culture fait??

Bien que la Fête de la culture soit un élément important de notre action et le point culminant de nos efforts pour célébrer les arts et la culture, ce n’est pas tout ce que nous faisons. Tout au long de l’année, la Fête de la culture continue de rapprocher le public des arts et de la culture par le biais de recherches, de séries de blogues, d’entrevues, de webinaires et d’autres projets spéciaux. La Fête de la culture est également active sur les médias sociaux, où elle partage des histoires inspirantes, plaide pour le soutien du secteur des arts et de la culture et s’adresse à des publics de tout le pays.

Qui peut présenter des événements dans le cadre de la Fête de la culture ?

Tout le monde ! La Fête de la culture est un événement avec une faible barrière à la participation : si vous souhaitez présenter un programme ou un événement artistique et culturel, assurez-vous qu’il est gratuit et accessible au public, et enregistrez-le (gratuitement !) sur le site web de la Fête de la culture - et c’est parti !

Tous les événements et activités doivent être accueillis ou organisés par une organisation, un artiste ou un individu basé au Canada. Les organisateurs sont invités à impliquer ou à collaborer avec des artistes ou des participants internationaux dans leurs programmes.

Comment puis-je m’inscrire en tant qu’organisateur ?

Avant de pouvoir enregistrer des événements en tant qu’organisateur, vous devez créer un compte, ce que vous pouvez faire ici. Une fois inscrit, vous aurez accès à toutes les fonctionnalités de votre compte via votre tableau de bord.

Comment créer un événement ?

Pour créer un événement, rendez-vous sur votre tableau de bord, cliquez sur Événements et suivez les instructions. Vous pouvez trouver des informations plus détaillées dans notre ressource Planifier votre événement ou télécharger notre guide pour créer un événement.

Qu’est ce qu’un carrefour créatif et comment puis-je en créer un?

Un carrefour créatif est un groupe d’événements de la Fête de la culture qui sont liés, que ce soit géographiquement ou thématiquement. La page du carrefour affiche tous les événements ensemble. Vous pouvez créer uncarrefour à partir de votre tableau de bord et inviter d’autres événements à le rejoindre. Pour en savoir plus sur les carrefours créatifs visitez [cette page] (/fr/resources/participation-guide/#creating-a-culture-days-hub).

Est-ce que la Fête de la culture programme ses propres événements?

Non, la Fête de la culture ne programme pas d’événements - le contrôle créatif appartient aux organisateurs et aux communautés ! Au cours de la procédure d’inscription, la Fête de la culture examine, approuve et publie les événements, mais uniquement pour vérifier qu’ils répondent aux exigences de base et qu’ils ne violent aucune [condition et politique] (/fr/terms).

Certains bureaux provinciaux de la Fête de la culture organisent des événements et des programmes spécifiques. Nous vous encourageons à visiter la page de votre région (cliquez sur “Régions” dans le menu principal) pour en savoir plus sur leur travail.

La Fête de la culture fournit-elle un financement ?

La Fête de la culture ne fournit pas de financement annuel direct pour les programmes ou les événements. Selon votre province ou votre région, des fonds peuvent être disponibles pour soutenir l’organisation de la programmation de la Fête de la culture. Nous vous recommandons de contacter votre bureau provincial pour plus de détails, ou de vous connecter avec nous à [email protected].

En Alberta, la plupart des événements de la Fête de la culture sont soutenus par des subventions du ministère de la Culture, du Multiculturalisme et de la Condition féminine. Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur le programme [ici] (https://www.alberta.ca/alberta-culture-days.aspx), ou contacter [email protected].

En Saskatchewan, de nombreux carrefours de la Fête de la culture sont soutenus par le programme de financement de SaskCulture. Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur leurs possibilités ici, ou contacter [email protected].

Puis-je faire payer l’entrée à l’événement que j’organise dans le cadre de la Fête de la culture ?

Les événements organisés dans le cadre de la Fête de la culture doivent être gratuits ou proposer une entrée payante facultative.

La Fête de la culture s’engage à faire en sorte que les arts et la culture soient accessibles à tous et croit que l’entrée gratuite est un outil utile pour réduire les obstacles à l’accès du public tout en offrant aux organisateurs des possibilités de développement du public. Toutefois, la Fête de la culture reconnaît également que la production d’événements artistiques et culturels entraîne des dépenses, et n’a donc aucune restriction quant à la sollicitation d’entrées payantes ou à la collecte de dons. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur notre politique [ici] (https://culturedays.ca/en/resources/participation-guide#pay-what-you-may-policy).

La Fête de la culture reconnaît l’importance de rémunérer les artistes et les diffuseurs pour leur temps, leur expertise et leur contribution à la programmation artistique et culturelle. Puisque la Fête de la culture n’est pas le producteur ou le programmeur des événements, les décisions concernant la rémunération sont laissées aux organisateurs des événements. Toutefois, nous encourageons fortement tous les organisateurs à rémunérer équitablement leurs artistes. Veuillez consulter les associations professionnelles telles que [CARFAC] (https://www.carfac.ca/) pour connaître leurs directives en matière de rémunération équitable des artistes.

Quel type de soutien puis-je attendre de la Fête de la culture ?

La Fête de la culture met un certain nombre de ressources à la disposition des organisateurs pour les aider à planifier et à organiser leurs événements. La Fête de la culture fournit également aux organisateurs des modèles personnalisables pour le matériel de marketing et de promotion, qui se trouvent dans votre tableau de bord. Nos équipes travaillent à rassembler les organisateurs et à favoriser la connexion et la collaboration entre les groupes et les communautés. La Fête de la culture mène également une campagne annuelle de publicité et d’engagement du public à l’échelle du pays, aide les organisateurs à promouvoir leurs événements, distribue des sondages et des recherches, et publie la liste des événements qui fournit un aperçu des activités.

Comment puis-je trouver des événements auxquels participer ?

En visitant notre page d’événements, vous pouvez accéder à l’outil de recherche qui vous permettra de rechercher des événements par lieu ou par mot-clé.

Pourquoi ne puis-je pas trouver d’événements au Québec ?

Au Québec, notre organisation affiliée Les Journées de la Culture mène une initiative miroir la même fin de semaine, avec une liste d’événements distincte, que vous pouvez trouver ici.


La Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation

Quels types d’événements peuvent être inclus dans la liste de la Fête de la culture pour la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation, le 30 septembre 2022 ?

L’événement doit commémorer l’esprit et les objectifs de la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation, et/ou célébrer et encourager le partage des expressions créatives et des perspectives des communautés autochtones.

L’événement doit-il être dirigé par des organisateurs autochtones pour être inscrit en tant qu’événement JNVR ?

Votre événement ou votre organisation n’a pas besoin d’être dirigé par des organisateurs autochtones pour être inscrit, mais l’activité doit être développée et/ou réalisée en partenariat avec des membres ou des partenaires de la communauté autochtone. Il est essentiel de centrer les voix et les expériences des communautés des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits dans le cadre du processus de vérité et de réconciliation.

Puis-je inscrire un événement le 30 septembre qui n’est pas lié à la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation ?

Non. Si vous organisez un événement le 30 septembre qui n’est pas lié aux objectifs, à l’esprit et à la commémoration de la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation, il ne peut pas être inclus dans la liste publique de la Fête de la culture. Cette décision a été prise par la Fête de la culture pour reconnaître que la commémoration publique est essentielle à la vérité et la réconciliation. Par conséquent, la Fête de la culture a mit de côté le 30 septembre 2022 pour créer un espace exclusivement réservé aux événements décrits ci-dessus.

Que se passe-t-il si j’organise un événement qui s’étend sur plusieurs jours et qui inclut le 30 septembre, mais que mon événement n’est pas lié à la vérité et à la réconciliation ? Puis-je quand même l’inscrire ?

Oui, mais votre événement du 30 septembre n’apparaîtra pas dans la recherche publique et la liste des événements de la Fête de la culture pour cette journée uniquement. Toutes les autres occurrences de l’événement apparaîtront dans la liste.