Find general updates and information regarding COVID-19 on the Culture Days 2020 page.

Documenting Your Event

In light of COVID-19, the documentation of your programs and events might look different in 2020. Even if you cannot organize in-person events, you can still document your programs, capture awesome moments on-camera, and gather attendance numbers to evaluate the overall success of your Culture Days celebrations. Find the text highlighted in yellow for special information related to this year.

You can find the latest info about our response to the crisis here

If a Culture Days event took place, but no one was there to record, take images, or document it…did it really happen? Of course it did, but making sure you properly document your event goes a long way in supporting engagement and future programming!

Making sure that you have proper documentation of your event should involve more than taking photos and filing them away until next year. Ensuring you are properly documenting provides you with lots of materials and content to help promote the following year’s activities, but also helps to appeal to sponsors and funders when undertaking development or fundraising, and can help raise the profile of the work you do all year round. Planning to document your event well can sometimes feel daunting, especially if one does not have much experience with photography. Never fear! On this page, you’ll find some tips that will help make your event memorable and provide you with great material for your promotional campaigns.

Capturing Culture Days on Camera

We all know that great photos and video help to maximize the impact of any event by sharing it with those who couldn’t be there. But getting those great images and video clips isn’t always easy.

Moon Picnic, Winnipeg, MB, 2018 Photo: Roger Rempel

If you are limited to organizing online or Do-It-Yourself programs, they can still be visually documented through screenshots or photos submitted by participants.

Who to hire?

The answer to this question will depend on a few factors such as budget, length of the event, the nature of the program, etc. If you or someone you know is comfortable operating a camera, it can be a great way to spend less on documenting your event. However, you might find yourself too busy running the event to document it yourself. In this case, if budget allows it, hiring a professional photographer is a great option.

Tips from a professional

In 2017, Culture Days hosted a webinar on the subject of documenting events with both still photography and video. Glenna Turnbull, a photographer from Kelowna, talked about the best ways to photograph Culture Days events. If you’re going to document an activity yourself, here are some of her tips for success:

Make sure your equipment is prepared: Clean lenses, full battery, enough memory space. Get a variety of shots (different angles, portrait vs. landscape, still vs in action, etc…) Optimal camera position: When photographing people, try to photograph them straight on rather than photographing down at them. Lighting: When outside find shade for more even lighting, be careful of backlighting; when shooting in theatre lighting bring your ISO up instead of bringing your shutter speed down. Keep your eyes open for the unexpected. Don’t forget to capture the audience!

Videography

Video is a great way to document your events and is a very compelling medium for capturing audience attention. It is an immersive experience that draws people in and therefore can give great visibility to your programming. It can also be a great tool to boost your social media presence! Here are some types of social media video content that Pedro Miguez, from Rebel Creative Media, mentioned during the webinar:

Announcements Contests / Promotions Weekly Video Blog Interviews / Testimonials Facebook Live Videos Invitations Event Coverage

It is important to effectively plan before shooting a video, and defining the goals of the video is a good place to start. This can include thinking about what your message is, who it is for, where people will be viewing your video, and what the desired outcome of the video is. Once you have answered some of these questions, you can begin to build a schedule for the production, post-production, and release of your video content. Having a clear calendar will help you stay on track with your video projects, especially if you have multiple events to promote and cover. You do not need to have a detailed shot for shot plan for your video, but it is useful to know ahead of time the general format it will take (run time, types of shots, etc.). Knowing a little bit about the location of the video ahead of time will help you when it comes to positioning yourself while filming, and lets you plan ahead for lighting needs, noise level considerations, and other factors.

Poor audio is a very quick way to lose an audience. If shooting an event outside or in a place with a lot of background noises, it is useful to enhance your audio by using an external microphone, especially if you are shooting with your smartphone.

Here are Pedro’s shooting tips when it comes to video:

Student Days at the Forks, Winnipeg, MB, 2018 Photo: Debbie Ristimaki

  • Do some trial runs in the space to see how the video will look and so you can make any necessary adjustments before hand
  • Try to use natural light as much as you can
  • Try to have more light on the main subject of your video than on the rest of the frame
  • Try not to face windows when shooting indoors
  • Avoid distracting elements in the background of your composition
  • Get creative and explore different camera angles
  • Go back and forth between wide shots and close-ups

Live videos can be a great way to promote your event while it is happening and to provide access to people who cannot attend in person. Here are the things you need to make a live video:

  • Smartphone with a decent data plan
  • Streaming app from your desired platform (facebook, twitter, instagram)
  • Microphone (optional)
  • Portable battery pack (if you will be shooting for a long time)

Making videos requires editing, which can be done on a number of different software. If you are doing simple editing directly from your smartphone, there are many free apps you can find that will work for your purposes. For more complex editing on the computer, Pedro recommends iMovie and Adobe Premiere.

Asking Permission to Use the Content

It is important that subjects who are clearly identifiable in a photograph or video are aware that they will be or have been captured on camera and provide consent for the content to be used in promotional material. A subject can sign a waiver that will make this consent official. You can find a sample consent form by signing in to your dashboard on our website. Another strategy is to include a disclaimer on all event descriptions which states that by attending, members of the public are consenting to potentially being photographed. It is important to note that at any point, the subject of a photograph can withdraw this consent and ask that their image not be used on public platforms. If the subject of the photograph or video is under the age of 18, their parent of guardian must provide consent.

If a person is pictured in a screenshot, it is still important to ask for their permission.

Measuring Your Event’s Success

It’s not all about the attendance numbers! Over and over we hear from Culture Days event organizers that the quality of engagement with the public is what makes participating a worthwhile experience. Here are some important measures of success to keep in mind when planning and subsequently evaluating your Culture Days events. When evaluating your activity, consider how many of these “qualitative” measures you achieved:

You may be answering the following questions differently this year, making it difficult to compare your success to other years. However, these are still great factors to consider in order to evaluate your 2020 programs.

Did you reach new potential clients and customers?

Be sure to have a sign-in sheet, guest register, comment card, or some other way to collect participants contact information so you can inform them of your future activities. Advertise your paid services so people know what you have to offer in the 362 days that aren’t Culture Days. If you are a visual or craft artist, you can also have artwork for sale visible and clearly priced for anyone wishing to purchase a piece before or after participating in your activity. Similarly, musicians can have CDs for sale. You can find a sample sign-in sheet by signing in to your dashboard on our website.

Did you promote other future events?

Do you have a performance, exhibition, or workshop coming up? Have promotional materials for upcoming events available and accessible. Display registration forms for upcoming classes or workshops, and have tickets for any upcoming performances on hand.

Did you forge some new year-round relationships?

Consider collaborating with other artists or arts and cultural organizations or institutions. You might build some partnerships that open the door for future work. Culture Days is a great time to reach out to local businesses, government representatives, and media – it’s all about public engagement and letting people know who you are and what you do.

Did you raise your profile?

Interactive arts and cultural activities are attractive to the media. Approach them to cover your Culture Days events.

Did you build support?

Do you need volunteers? Are you an organization with charitable status that relies on public support through donations? Are you looking for a board member? Culture Days is a great chance to bring people into your organization, company, or festival and show them how they can be involved and how their support can help you do your work!

Did you connect with community leaders?

Invite your city/town councillor, mayor, provincial/territorial elected officials, MP or other community leaders and influencers to attend your activity. Introduce yourself and familiarize these community leaders with your work—this can help to build a community network of arts and culture supporters and advocates.

Documenting an event is not only about taking photos and videos. It can also be useful to keep a record of the things that were successful about an event and the things that did go as well. This information will become helpful when planning subsequent activities.

Documenter Votre Événement

  • Email

Tenant compte de la situation de la COVID-19, la documentation de vos programmes pourrait être différente en 2020. Même si vous ne pouvez pas organiser d’événements en personne, vous pouvez toujours documenter vos programmes, et il est toujours utile de recueillir les donnés de fréquentation et d’évaluer le succès de vos célébrations de la Fête de la culture. Trouvez le texte surligné en jaune pour des informations spéciales relatives à cette année.

Vous pouvez trouver les dernières informations sur notre réponse à la crise ici

Si un événement de la Fête de la Culture prend place, mais personne n’est là pour l’enregistrer, le photographier, ou le documenter, est-ce-qu’il a vraiment eu lieu? Bien sur que oui, mais etre sur de bien documenter votre événement est une bonne façon de supporter l’engagement du public et les programmations futures!

La documentation de votre événement devrait être plus que simplement prendre des photos et les archiver jusqu’à l’année prochaine. Bien documenter vous donne beaucoups de matériel utile pour la promotion de vos événements futurs et pour attirer des sponsors quand vous faites une collecte de fonds.Ceci peut être intimidant, surtout si vous n’avez pas beaucoup d’expérience en photographie. Sur cette page, vous trouverez des astuces pour que votre événement soit mémorable et pour que votre campagne promotionnelle soit un succès.

La Fete de la Culture sur Camera

Nous savons tous que des bonnes photos et videos aident à maximiser l’impact d’un événement en le partageant avec ceux qui ne pouvaient pas être présents. Mais créer ces images n’est pas toujours facile.

Si vous êtes limité à l’organisation de programmes en ligne ou auto-guidés, ils peuvent tout de même être documentés visuellement par des captures d’écran ou des photos soumises par les participants.

Qui embaucher?

La réponse à cette question dépendra de quelques facteurs comme votre budget, longueur de l’événement, etc. Si vous, ou quelqu’un que vous connaissez êtes confortable en utilisant une caméra, vous pouvez dépenser moins sur la documentation de votre événement. En revanche, vous serez peut être trop occupé avec l’organisation de l’événement pour le documenter vous même. Dans ce cas, si vous avez le budget, embaucher un professionnel est une excellente option.

Astuces d’un professionnel

En 2017, La Fête de la Culture a organiser un webinaire sur le sujet de la documentation d’événement. Glenna Turnbull, un photographe de Kelowna nous a donné quelques astuces pour documenter votre événement vous même:

  • Soyez sur que votre équipement est prêt: lentilles propres, pleines batteries, espace mémoire
  • Essayez différentes sortes de clichés (different angles, vertical vs horizontal, fige vs en action, etc.)
  • Bien positionner la camera: En photographiant des personnes, photographiez les
  • Eclairage: En plein air, trouvez de l’ombre pour un éclairage plus uniforme. A l’intérieur hausser votre ISO.
  • Gardez vos yeux ouverts pour l’impreictible
  • N’oubliez pas de photographier la foule

Videographie

La vidéo est une bonne façon de documenter vos événements et un médium efficace pour attirer l’attention de votre auditoire. Elle creer une expérience immersive qui attire le monde et peut donner de la visibilité à votre événement. Elle peut aussi aider votre présence sur les reseaux sociaux! Voici les sortes de contenu vidéo que Pedro miguez, de Rebel Media,a mentionné durant le webinaire:

  • Annonces
  • Promotions
  • Blogue Video
  • Entrevues
  • Facebook Live
  • Invitations
  • Couverture d’un événement

Il est important de planifier avant de prendre une vidéo, et définir les buts de la vidéo est un bon point de départ. Cela peut inclure se demander quel est votre message. Il est pour qui. Et ou le monde visionneront votre vidéo, et quels sont les résultats désirés. Une fois que vous avez répondu à ces questions, vous pouvez commencer à construire un horaire pour la production, postproduction et la sortie de votre vidéo. Avoir un calendrier détaillé vous aidera à rester au dessus de vos projets vidéo, surtout si vous avez plusieurs événements à promouvoir. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’un plan détaillé scene par scene, mais il est utile de connaître le format général de la vidéo. Avoir de l’information à propos du lieu ou vous filmer à l’avance vous aideras a savoir ou vous positionner et à planifier vos besoin d’éclairage et considération à propos du niveau de bruit.

De l’audio de mauvaise qualité et bonne façon de perdre votre auditoire. Si vous filmer en plein air ou dans un endroit bruyant, vous pouvez améliorer votre son avec un microphone externe.


Voici les astuces de Pedro pour prendre des vidéos:

  • Faites des essais dans l’espace avant l’événement
  • Essayez d’utiliser de la lumière naturelle autant que possible
  • Essayez d’avoir plus de lumière sur le sujet principale que sur le reste du cadre
  • Essayez de ne pas faire face à des fenêtre quand vous filmer à l’intérieur
  • Evitez d’avoir des éléments distrayant à l’arrière plan de votre composition
  • Soyez créatifs et explorez différents angles
  • Alternez entre des cadres larges et des close-ups

Les vidéos en direct peuvent être une excellente façon de promouvoir votre événement pendant qu’il prend lieu et donner accès à ceux qui ne peuvent pas y être en personne. Voici ce dont vous avez besoin pour créer une vidéo en direct:

  • Téléphone intelligent avec un bon abonnement
  • Une application pour votre plateforme désirée (facebook, twitter, instagram)
  • Microphone
  • Batterie externe portable (si vous allez filmer longtemps)

Creer des videos requièrent du montage, ce qui peut être effectué avec différents programmes. Si vous faites du montage simple et rapide directement à partir de votre téléphone intelligent, il y a plusieurs applications gratuites. Pour du montage plus complexe sur l’ordinateur, Pedro recommende iMovie ou Adobe Premiere.

Demander la permission d’utiliser le contenu

Il est important que les sujets qui sont clairement identifiable dans une vidéo ou photographie soit au courant qu’il ont été photographiés et qu’il donne la permission que leurs images soit utilisés dans du matériel promotionnel. Ils peuvent signer un document comme preuve de cette permission. Vous pouvez trouver un modèle pour ce document dans votre tableau de bord sur notre site web. Une autre option est d’inclure un avertissement dans la description de l’événement expliquant qu’en participant le public accepte qu’ils seront potentiellement photographies. Le sujet peut retirer la permission d’utiliser leur image à n’importe quel moment. Si le sujet a moins de 18 ans, un parent ou tuteur parental doit donner la permission.

Si une personne est photographiée dans une capture d’écran, il est tout de même important de lui demander son autorisation.

Mesurer la réussite

La réussite ne se mesure pas seulement avec le nombre de visiteurs ! Les organisateurs d’activités répètent sans cesse que c’est avec la qualité du rapport avec le public que l’on mesure la véritable valeur de la participation. Voici quelques indicateurs de succès importants à garder à l’esprit lorsque vous planifiez et évaluez par la suite vos activités de la Fête de la culture. Lorsque vous évaluez votre activité, notez combien parmi les indicateurs « qualitatifs » ci-dessous vous avez atteints :

Il se peut que vous répondiez différemment aux questions suivantes cette année, ce qui rend difficile la comparaison avec d’autres années. Cependant, ce sont toujours des facteurs importants à prendre en compte pour évaluer vos programmes 2020.

Avez-vous rencontré de nouveaux clients potentiels ?

Assurez-vous d’avoir sur les lieux une feuille de présence, un registre des invités, une carte de commentaires ou une autre façon (tirage ?) pour recueillir les coordonnées des participants afin de garder le contact avec eux et de les informer de vos activités à venir. Faites la publicité de vos services contre rémunération afin que tous vos visiteurs connaissent ce que vous avez à offrir pendant les 362 jours où l’on ne célèbre pas la Fête de la culture. Si vous êtes un artiste en arts visuels ou un artisan, vous pouvez placer vos œuvres bien en vue avec les prix en évidence afin que les personnes intéressées puissent s’en procurer avant ou après votre activité. De même, les musiciens peuvent vendre leurs CD.

Avez-vous fait la promotion de vos activités à venir ?

Avez-vous une représentation, une exposition ou un atelier qui s’en vient ? Assurez-vous que votre matériel de promotion soit sur les lieux et que les gens puissent facilement se le procurer. Placez bien en vue les formulaires d’inscription pour tous vos cours et ateliers à venir et ayez sous la main des billets à vendre pour toutes vos prochaines représentations.

Avez-vous forgé de nouvelles relations qui dureront toute l’année ?

Envisagez de collaborer avec d’autres artistes ou des organismes et institutions artistiques et culturelles. Vous pourriez bâtir quelques partenariats qui ouvriront la voie à de nouvelles collaborations. La Fête de la culture est le temps idéal pour entrer en contact avec des entreprises locales, des représentants du gouvernement et des médias : il s’agit d’abord et avant tout de créer un rapport avec le public et de faire connaître au plus grand nombre de personnes possible qui vous êtes et ce que vous faites.

Avez-vous rehaussé votre profil ?

Les arts interactifs et les activités culturelles attirent les médias. Entrez en contact avec eux pour qu’ils parlent de votre activité de la Fête de la culture.

Avez-vous rallié des appuis ?

Avez-vous besoin de bénévoles ? Votre organisme est-il à but non lucratif et dépend-t-il des dons du public ? Êtes-vous à la recherche d’un membre pour votre conseil d’administration ? La Fête de la culture est une occasion unique d’attirer des personnes dans votre organisme, compagnie ou festival et leur montrer comment elles peuvent s’impliquer et vous soutenir pour vous aider à faire votre travail !

Avez-vous communiqué avec des leaders de la communauté ?

Invitez votre conseiller municipal, le maire, le député provincial ou fédéral ou tout autre leader communautaire influent à participer à votre activité. Présentez-vous et faites connaître votre travail à ces leaders de la communauté, ce qui contribuera à bâtir votre réseau de passionnés des arts et de la culture dans votre collectivité et à sensibiliser les décideurs à tous les paliers du gouvernement.