It is our shared responsibility to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Before attending an In Person event, please review the protocols in place, and contact the organizer directly for the latest updates. Please note that all Culture Days events are independently organized. Find general updates and information on the Culture Days 2021 page.

Beading on the Land

Théâtre Cercle Molière

340 Boulevard Provencher

Winnipeg, MB

In-person Sculpture & installation Self-guided Visual arts Interdisciplinary

Large-scale lantern beadwork project. This experiment tries to take something small and intricate like Metis beadwork and blow it up to a larger-than-life version. Instead of decorating clothing, these "beads" decorate the land. The lanterns are made so that you can see the structure of the "bead", the skin, and bones so to speak, if you get close up. Stand a way back and folks can expect to see colourful lantern beads "sewn", floating magically, into their places to create a large-scale flower. Artist Bio: Charlene Van Buekenhout is a Métis / Belgian / Canadian theatre artist living and working on Treaty 1. She is the Artistic Producer of Echo Theatre, programs stuff for Dalnavert Museum, is an actor, and mom to Phoebe. She participated in the 2018 New England Puppet Intensive where she learned to make lantern puppets , has performed ghost stories and more with her Crankie box, is currently creating some theatre about her Métis self and has learned to jig. She participated in a Michif language revitalization project in 2021 and has been learning to speak southern Michif since May 2020. Her play Minoosh Doo- Kapeeshiw (a partnership with Indigenous Languages Manitoba) was part of the virtual kids fringe of 2021. Health guidelines: Please wear a mask and practice physical distancing on your self-guided visit.

Fri 24 Sep
8:00 PM →
Sat 25 Sep
→ 12:00 AM

Théâtre Cercle Molière

This event is free.

Organized by

Théâtre Cercle Molière

Founded in 1925, it is the oldest theatre company in Canada. It has always been and remains a driving force in the cultural life of French-speaking Manitoba. Le Cercle Molière began by performing the French classic repertoire. Then in the 1950s, plays from Quebec and across Canada were staged, and for the last forty years, the emphasis has been on new Manitoba works. Important demographic changes within communities, the changing face of the Francophone and the Francophone Métis communities have become major points of reference for this company as it continually seeks renewal and relevance.

This event is part of a hub:

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg 2021

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg - Produced by Culture Days Manitoba Winnipeg, MB

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg is a free nighttime exploration and celebration of contemporary art where artists, galleries, cultural organizations and independent curators create and host their own events around the city. These events are FREE to t...

Location

340 Boulevard Provencher

Winnipeg, MB

This installation can be viewed in a physically-distanced way outside the building on September 24th.

Event Contact

Anna-Laure Koop

anna-laure@cerclemoliere.com

Language

English, French

Accessibility

This event is wheelchair accessible.

Il est de notre responsabilité commune de réduire la propagation de la COVID-19. Avant de participer à un événement en personne, veuillez consulter les protocoles en place et contacter directement l’organisateur pour obtenir les dernières mises à jour (les coordonnées sont disponibles sur la page de chaque événement). Veuillez noter que tous les événements de la Fête de la culture sont organisés de façon indépendante. Vous trouverez des mises à jour et des informations générales sur la page de la Fête de la culture 2021.

Beading on the Land

Théâtre Cercle Molière

340 Boulevard Provencher

Winnipeg, MB

En personne Sculpture et Installation Auto-guidée Arts visuels Interdisciplinaire

Projet de perlage de lanterne à grande échelle. Cette expérience essaie de prendre quelque chose de petit et de complexe comme le perlage métis et de le faire exploser en une version plus grande que nature. Au lieu de décorer les vêtements, ces "perles" décorent la terre. Les lanternes sont faites pour que vous puissiez voir la structure de la "perle", la peau et les os pour ainsi dire, si vous vous rapprochez. Reculez et les gens peuvent s'attendre à voir des perles de lanterne colorées "cousues", flottant comme par magie, à leur place pour créer une fleur à grande échelle. Bio de l'artiste: Charlene Van Buekenhout est une artiste de théâtre métisse / belge / canadienne qui vit et travaille sur le Traité 1. Elle est la productrice artistique d'Echo Theatre, programme des trucs pour le musée Dalnavert, est actrice et maman de Phoebe. Elle a participé au New England Puppet Intensive 2018 où elle a appris à fabriquer des marionnettes lanternes, a interprété des histoires de fantômes et plus encore avec sa boîte Crankie, crée actuellement du théâtre sur elle-même métisse et a appris de la jig. Elle a participé à un projet de revitalisation de la langue michif en 2021 et apprend à parler le michif du sud depuis mai 2020. Sa pièce Minoosh Doo-Kapeeshiw (un partenariat avec Indigenous Languages Manitoba) faisait partie de la fringe virtuelle des enfants de 2021. Consignes de santé: Veuillez porter un masque et observer la distanciation physique lors de votre visite auto-guidée.

ven. 24 Sep
20:00 →
sam. 25 Sep
→ 0:00

Théâtre Cercle Molière

Cet événement est gratuit.

Organisé par

Théâtre Cercle Molière

Fondée en 1925, elle est la doyenne des compagnies de théâtre canadiennes, toutes langues confondues. Elle a été depuis ses origines et demeure toujours l’un des principaux moteurs de la vie culturelle au Manitoba français. Le TCM présente d’abord le répertoire classique et à partir des années 1950, on y présente le théâtre québécois, canadien et manitobain. Les questions des changements démographiques importants dans les communautés, le visage changeant de la francophonie et de la communauté métisse francophone sont des points d’ancrage d’aujourd’hui pour une compagnie qui cherche continuellement à se renouveler et être pertinente.

Cet événement fait partie d'un carrefour créatif:

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg 2021

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg - Produced by Culture Days Manitoba Winnipeg, MB

Nuit Blanche Winnipeg is a free nighttime exploration and celebration of contemporary art where artists, galleries, cultural organizations and independent curators create and host their own events around the city. These events are FREE to t...

Lieu

340 Boulevard Provencher

Winnipeg, MB

Cette installation peut être vue de manière distanciée à l'extérieur du bâtiment le 24 septembre.

Contact pour l'événement

Anna-Laure Koop

anna-laure@cerclemoliere.com

Langue

English, French

Accessibilité

Cet événement est accessible en chaise roulante.