Skip to main content

You are viewing an archived event from a previous year.

Culture Days will return September 20 – October 13, 2024.

Culture Ecologies of Sound and Pace


Intercultural Interdisciplinary Sculpture & installation Digital & new media Music
Email Save QR code

Date and time


BC Centre Round Lecture Theatre, House of Learning, Thompson Rivers University

Thompson Rivers University at 805 TRU Way on McGill Road

Kamloops, BC

Directions: Your visit at this drop-in event can be flexible. There is no need to arrive on time or stay the duration. Pay parking in effect until 5 pm.



Offered in English.

Wheelchair accessible and has gender-neutral washrooms.


Walk through or sit a while to discover a cultural confluence of sound and walking practices that reimagine how we navigate our shared environments with highlights from this year's Walking Festival of Sound. Experience a rotating program of multi-media soundscape compositions from Seoul, Vancouver, Stockholm, and Newcastle including a performance recorded at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops on the traditional unceded lands of the Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc within Secwepemcúl’ecw. Walking Festival of Sound 2022 is curated by an international team and sponsored by Vancouver New Music and Arts Council Korea. This event is kindly supported by Thompson Rivers University Alumni Association and Thompson Rivers University Office of Sustainability. Your visit at this drop-in event can be flexible. There is no need to arrive on time or stay the duration.


Daniela O'Fee

Daniela is a Kamloops artist and educator who is pleased to be taking part in this year's Walking Festival of Sound. Please visit the Walking Festival of Sound website linked above to read about her featured video "Surfacing" and to learn about the other artists contributing to the festival. The Walking Festival of Sound curators are Giorgio Magnanensi, Heather McDermid, Tim Shaw, Seihee Shon and Jacek Smolicki. Featured at this BC Culture Days event include works by: Jsuk Han, Seoryang Kim, R. Murray Schafer, Tim Shaw, Jacek Smolicki, Hye-Soon Seo and Barry Truax.