Skip to main content

You are viewing an archived event from a previous year.

Culture Days will return September 20 – October 13, 2024.

The National Ballet of Canada - Livestream of Company Class


Dance Digital & new media Music Youth & teens
Email Save QR code

Date and time


Digital Livestream

Toronto, ON



Offered in English.


Thank you for joining us to view the livestream of Company Class to celebrate Culture Days, led by Hope Muir, Joan and Jerry Lozinski Artistic Director on September 26, 2022.

If you did not have the chance to join the livestream broadcast from The Walter Carsen Centre in Toronto, a recording will be available to enjoy shortly, until October 16, 2022 in celebration of Culture Days!

Company class is a 75-minute class that warms up the body and prepares the dancer physically and mentally for rehearsal and performance. The exercises in class are the building blocks of classical ballet choreography.



The National Ballet of Canada

One of the top international ballet companies, The National Ballet of Canada was founded in 1951 by Celia Franca. Today, the company is among the world’s finest, with 70 dancers and its own orchestra. The National Ballet has a history of pre-eminent Artistic Directors and in January 2022, welcomed new leader, Hope Muir. Renowned for its diverse repertoire, the company performs traditional full-length classics, embraces contemporary work and encourages the creation of new ballets as well as the development of Canadian choreographers. The company’s repertoire includes works by Frederick Ashton, George Balanchine, Aszure Barton, Marie Chouinard, John Cranko, William Forsythe, James Kudelka, Wayne McGregor, Kenneth McMillan, John Neumeier, Rudolf Nureyev, Crystal Pite, Alexei Ratmansky, Christopher Wheeldon and the company’s Choreographic Associates Robert Binet, Guillaume Côté and Alysa Pires, among other creators. The National Ballet tours in Canada, the USA and internationally with appearances in Paris, London, Moscow and St. Petersburg, Hamburg, New York City, Washington, D.C., Los Angeles, and San Francisco.