Guided Museum Tours
In-personAgriculture Architecture History & heritage Kids Museum Tour
Date and time
111 Bayfield Street Meaford Ontario
Free, and accepts optional pay-what-you-may donations for admission.
Offered in English.
Wheelchair accessible and has gender-neutral washrooms.
Join a guided tour of the Meaford Museum to explore over 41 exhibits and learn about the history of our great Municipality. Exhibits include our pioneers, nautical history, and our new Wall of Fame highlighting a few of the famous people from Meaford.
- Meaford Museum website meafordmuseum.ca
Built-in 1895 by McQuillen and Co., the Meaford Museum was once home to the town’s Pumping Station. A few years following its construction, a brick chimney was added in an effort to make the facility more efficient.
In 1924, an electric pump and auxiliary gas pump were added to the building. Eventually, the Public Utilities Department was relocated to the pumping station and the building was then referred to as the “Power House”. During the 1940s, the brick chimney was removed and both the Public Utilities and Public Works departments vacated the building, leaving it unoccupied.
Having been vacant for years, the Power House was converted into a museum, primarily through the efforts of the Kent Women’s Institute. The first collections for the museum were donated by the Sing and Godfrey families.
Opening its doors in 1961, the Meaford Museum was a huge success with guests from all around the globe coming to see some of the unique and one of a kind artifacts housed in the museum. Due to the ever expanding collections and tourists, several renovations were required to increase room sizes and display space, improve lighting, and update the building itself. In 1997 several renovations went underway along with a front addition to accommodate the museums foyer and general store, generously donated by The Apple Harvest Craft Show, The Kiwanis Club, Lions Club and Kinsmen Club.
The following year, an addition was added to house the temporary collection of the 1938 Bickle Maple Leaf Fire truck donated by the Meaford Fire Department. This addition was funded by the local Kiwanis Club and built by local residents and contractors. The most recent renovation to the museum was the introduction of the Farm Shed on the Northern grounds of the museum. The Farm Shed houses numerous large farming tools and was made possible from the late Joe Walker’s estate.
Today, the Meaford Museum displays various artifacts and collections about our local and nations’ history. There are four rooms to explore and learn about our history and now also serves the Townships of St. Vincent and Sydenham creating a large diverse area from which to draw stories and artifacts.