You are viewing an archived event from a previous year.
Culture Days will return September 20 – October 13, 2024.
Doors Open St. Marys
Date and time
St. Marys, ON
Offered in English.
Residents and visitors alike can discover – and rediscover – St. Marys’ impressive architectural history for free. Sixteen sites, including museums, churches, local businesses and more, are opening their doors on Saturday, September 23!
Several sites are offering an art show and sale, poetry and live music performances.
Free accessible Heritage Bus Tours departing from Town Hall hourly between 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Call the St. Marys Museum at 519-284-3556 to register.
- For more information, visit discoverstmarys.ca
St. Marys Museum and Archives
The community museum for the Town of St. Marys is located in a lovely heritage home sitting on a hilltop in Cadzow Park at 177 Church Street South. It was constructed from locally quarried limestone in 1854. When George Tracy, an early settler to St. Marys, built it for his family, it was by far the largest home in the small village of log shanties. Almost immediately, it was nicknamed the Castle in the Bush. It has been the location of the St. Marys Museum since 1959.
Visitors interested in 19th-century construction are welcome to visit at any time throughout the year. They will see exhibits and materials on local history and can also explore the interior of the house itself. Although it has not been restored to any fixed historic period, it contains a great number of original features from 1854: pine flooring, four fireplaces, plaster crown moldings, high ceilings and strange sets of small rooms off larger chambers.
The St. Marys Museum promotes understanding and enjoyment of local heritage through archives, collections, exhibits, programming and events.
This event is part of a hub:
Experience St. Marys, where history meets modern adventures set against the picturesque backdrop of the Thames River and Trout Creek junction. You will instantly marvel at historic limestone architecture that gave this small town its nickna...