Contact
September 27, 28, 29
close
Search events near me ...

Or

Where


When


Narrow your results


Filter by Activity Types, Categories & Keywords
Print

An Intro to Municipal Cultural Planning

Tags: Tipsheet, Video, Community Organizers, Culture Days Tools, Collaboration

On April 24, Culture Days hosted Municipal Cultural Planning with Mirella Tersigni (City of Vaughan, Vaughan, Ontario), Matthew Thomas (City Proper, Toronto, Ontario), and Anna Whelan (Creative City Network of Canada, Vancouver, British Columbia).

For the staff of many cities and towns, Culture Days is an opportunity to coordinate arts programming that directly ties into their municipal cultural plan. The webinar presenters discussed their roles in cultural planning for Canadian municipalities and how Culture Days can fit in to regional arts and culture strategies.

Don’t have time to watch the full video? We’ve summarized Mirella, Matthew, and Anna's top tips below!

1. DO YOUR HOMEWORK

It’s important to take the time and do the necessary pre-planning in order to determine whether or not your community is ready for cultural planning. Embracing a broad definition and understanding of the community’s cultural resources will help to identify what type of cultural planning project is needed and what is possible. Does your municipality or community need a comprehensive detailed cultural plan? A specialized arts or cultural assessment plan? A cultural plan with a predominantly single discipline focus? If you’re new to cultural planning, Anna Whelan suggests reading-up on articles and other resources on the topic, such as:

Pro-tip: Still a bit unsure about where to begin? You may also find it helpful to look at other communities’ cultural plans:

2. LOOK TO THE COMMUNITY FOR LEADERS & CHAMPIONS 

The leadership for cultural planning often comes from within the community. Matthew Thomas recommends recruiting team members who are representative of the community’s diversity – be inclusive and engage the community directly in discussions about planning, methods, costs, benefits, feasibility and decision-making. A range of different individuals should be involved from the beginning, including: elected councilors, senior municipal staff, community leaders from both within and beyond the cultural community.

3. CONSULTATION IS KEY

Community consultation is an integral aspect of the municipal cultural process. From the very start of a planning project, a process for ongoing community input needs to be established and built into the work. Consider multiple approaches to consultation, such as: vision and strategy sessions, idea fairs, surveys and opinion polls, and/or citizen committees.

Who should be involved in consultations? In short, everyone and anyone who wants to be: residents and resident associations, community groups (recreational, sports, arts and cultural, social, political, environmental), youth, seniors, business/ economic developers, tourism, the media, multi-cultural groups, First Nations, government organizations, schools, the marginalized and vulnerable, etc.

4. FIND THE RIGHT FIT FOR CULTURE DAYS AND YOUR COMMUNITY

Incorporating a special discipline, project, or event, such as the Culture Days weekend, into your municipal cultural plan is a thoughtful starting point for both celebrating and safeguarding arts and culture in your community. Mirella Tersigni recommends finding the right fit for Culture Days and your community. For example, to combat the City of Vaughan’s expansive geographical layout, Mirella adopted a hub approach to highlight and cluster key Culture Days events and programs.

But, how did Culture Days fit into the City of Vaughan’s cultural plan? Mirella noted that Culture Days’ National model inspired a localized effort to connect different organizations and activators across the city. Culture Days is a great opportunity to foster new, creative relationships and to see what’s possible!

5. IMPLEMENT, MONITOR, AND REVIEW

Once the plan has been implemented, it is important to ensure monitoring mechanisms are in place to keep the strategy on course.  A plan that includes a series of measurable benchmarks provides a map for the future that can indicate progress:

  • How far have we come?
  • What have we accomplished?
  • And what do we do next?

Contact
27, 28, 29 Septembre
close
Rechercher des événements près de chez moi ...

Ou


Quand


Réduire vos résultats


Filter by Activity Types, Categories & Keywords
Imprimer

Le 24 avril, la Fête de la culture présentait Municipal Cultural Planning (Planification culturelle municipale) avec Mirella Tersigni (Ville de Vaughan, Vaughan, Ontario), Matthew Thomas (City Proper, Toronto, Ontario), et Anna Whelan (Creative City Network of Canada, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique).

Pour le personnel de plusieurs villes et villages, la Fête de la culture est une occasion de juxtaposer une programmation artistique spécifique, directement liée à la planification culturelle municipale. Les présentateurs du webinaire ont parlé de leur rôle dans la planification culturelle de plusieurs municipalités canadiennes et de comment la Fête de la culture s’insère dans leurs stratégies artistiques et culturelles régionales.

Pas le temps de regarder toute la vidéo? Nous avons résumé ici les conseils de Mirella, Matthew, and Anna pour vous

1. FAITES VOS DEVOIRS

Il est important de prendre le temps de faire la pré-planification nécessaire, afin de déterminer si votre communauté est oui ou non prête pour un plan culturel. Avoir une définition élargie et tenir compte des ressources culturelles de la communauté aideront à identifier le type de projet culturel à planifier et ce qui est possible de réaliser. Votre municipalité ou votre  communauté nécessite-t-elle qu’un plan culturel minutieusement détaillé soit présenté? Un plan d’évaluation spécifique aux arts et à la culture? Un plan culturel misant de façon prédominante sur les disciplines individuelles? Si la planification culturelle est nouvelle pour vous, Anna Whelan suggère de lire quelques articles et autres ressources sur le sujet, comme :

Conseil de pro : pas encore certain de savoir par où commencer ? Il peut être utile de consulter les plans culturels d’autres municipalités :

2. TROUVEZ DES CHAMPIONS ET DES LEADERS DANS LA COMMUNAUTÉ

Les initiatives culturelles et leur planification sont très souvent le résultat de la communauté elle-même. Matthew Thomas recommande de recruter des représentants de la communauté issus de la diversité – soyez inclusif et impliquez la communauté directement dans les discussions à propos de la planification, des méthodes, des coûts, des bénéfices, de la faisabilité et des prises de décisions. Une vaste représentativité de gens devrait être impliquée dès le début, tels des conseillers municipaux, des membres du personnel municipal sénior, des leaders issus de la communauté culturelle et des autres milieux.

3. CONSULTER, C’EST LA CLÉ

Consulter la communauté est un aspect intégral du processus culturel municipal. Dès le tout début de la planification du projet, un processus permettant à la communauté de s’impliquer doit être établi et être partie intégrante du travail. Pensez à des approches de consultation variées, telles que des séances de vision et stratégie, des foires d’idées, des sondages et études, et/ou des comités citoyens.

Qui devrait être impliqué dans les consultations? En bref, quiconque et chacune des personnes intéressées : associations de résidents, groupes communautaires (récréatifs, sportifs, artistiques et culturels, sociaux, politiques, environnementaux), jeunes, de l’âge-d’or, d’affaires ou économiques, touristiques, les médias, les groupes multiculturels, les Premières nations, les organismes gouvernementaux, scolaires, représentants les gens marginaux et vulnérables etc.

4. TROUVER LE BON MARIAGE ENTRE LA FÊTE DE LA CULTURE ET VOTRE COMMUNAUTÉ

Introduire une discipline, un projet ou un évènement particulier dans votre plan culturel municipal, comme la fin de semaine de laFête de la culture, est un point de départ à considérer pour à la fois célébrer et préserver les arts et la culture dans votre communauté. Par exemple, pour répondre à la vaste étendue géographique de la Ville de Vaughan, Mirella a adopté une approche favorisant un pôle culturel destiné à mettre en lumière et à regrouper les évènements et programmes clés de la Fête de la culture.

Mais, comment la Fête de la culture s’est-elle insérée dans le plan culturel de la Ville de Vaughan? Mirella a souligné que le modèle national de la Fête de la culture avait inspiré l’effort local et favorisé la mise en lien de différents organismes et acteurs de la ville. La Fête de la culture est une magnifique occasion de développer des relations nouvelles et créatives et de voir les nouvelles possibilités!

5. METTEZ EN ŒUVRE, ÉVALUEZ, RÉVISEZ

Une fois le plan mis en oeuvre, il est important de s’assurer d’évaluer les mécanismes en place pour s’assurer que la stratégie prévue suive son cours. Un plan incluant une série d’indicateurs mesurables est garant d’un futur permettant de remarquer les progrès :

  • Quelle proportion du travail avons-nous accomplie?
  • Qu’avons-nous accompli?
  • Et maintenant, quoi?